The records unit of the Beaumont Police Department processes, files and maintains all police reports received by the department. In addition, the records unit files accident reports and the Uniform Crime Report with the State of Texas. The unit is responsible for serving citizens in several different ways.

The Texas Open Records Act provides a mechanism whereby individuals may apply to a governmental body for certain categories of public information. Public information is available during normal business hours of the governmental body. The Open Records Act exempts certain categories of information from release based on statutory provisions. A person desiring information shall submit a written request to the governmental agency in possession of the information detailing the specific nature of the information sought, i.e., dates, locations, specific events and documents, etc.
The governmental body to whom the request is submitted shall review the request to determine if the information is available under the act. If the information is available, the governmental body may charge the person for the information or if the request for information is voluminous, the governmental body may require a deposit before searching for or producing documents.

The Beaumont Police Department will ONLY ACCEPT WRITTEN REQUESTS for documents. Form(s) are available at the Records Management Unit located in the police department lobby at 255 College. These form(s) also are available below via pdf format.

Accident Report Request Form
Offense Report Request Form

Or, a request may be made via e-mail, fax (409-880-1010) or letter as long as the correspondence contains all the requested information on the form(s). ALL requests MUST have a contact telephone number in the event Records Management personnel have a question that must be answered before the request can be fulfilled. No requested information will be released to the requesting party until payment is received. Records Management ONLY accepts cash, check or money order (no cash by mail). Once payment is received, the requested information can be picked up in person by the requesting party or it can be faxed or mailed depending on the requestor’s preference and size of the response. Please review fax fees below. The final cost for the requested information should be confirmed by contacting the Records Management Unit prior to mailing payment.

To obtain a copy of an accident report, you may request it by mail, fax, e-mail, or in person at the Police Department, located at 255 College in downtown Beaumont. You must provide a name of a person involved in the accident, the location of the accident or the date of the accident. There is a $6.00 fee for the report unless you are the driver or owner then the fee is waived. For further assistance please call 409-880-3817. We cannot release information about an accident report over the telephone.

Offense: An offense Report is generated whenever a crime is reported to the police. To obtain a copy of an offense report, you may request it by mail, fax, e-mail, or in person at the Police Department, located at 255 College in downtown Beaumont. You must provide a name of a person involved in the offense, the location of the offense or the date of the offense. There is a $1.00 fee for the report or you may print out the report from the P2C option. For further assistance please call 409-880-3817. We cannot release information about an offense report over the telephone.

Call for Service: A calls for service query is a listing of all the calls for officers whether a report was generated or not. Please call the Records Unit for further assistance with these requests at 409-880-3817.

Requests by mail: Beaumont Police Records, PO Box 3827,
Beaumont, TX 77704

Requests by fax: 409-880-1010

Requests by email: Click here.

Requests in person: Beaumont Police, 255 College, Beaumont, TX 77701

The Beaumont Police Department operates a telephone reporting function in the Records Management Unit. Tele-serve takes simple reports from citizens to allow our officers more time patrolling the streets and handling calls during the hours of 8:00am – 5:00pm Monday-Friday. Tele-serve will make reports either by phone, walk-ins, or internet reporting. If the report meets the below listed criteria, a report can be made.

Report by phone: 409-880-3862

Walk-in report: Lobby of the Police Dept at 255 College in downtown Beaumont

Internet Reporting: Click here

Criteria for Tele-serve Reports:

The incident occurred within the Beaumont City limits.
The incident must not be in progress.
Only non-violent crimes are taken
(no reports resulting in major injuries or if weapons are involved)

There is no obvious physical evidence left at the scene.

Types of Crimes for Tele-serve:

Criminal Mischief (Damage to Property)
Simple Thefts (Including thefts off of a vehicle or theft of bicycles)
Auto Burglary (Vehicle was entered)
Thefts from Sheds or Storage Structures
Thefts from Open Garages
Identity Theft
Simple Assaults (with minor injures and no weapons involved)
If you need immediate assistance call 911.

If your report does not meet the above criteria, you can call 409-832-1234 to have an officer come out to the scene.

Accident Report $6.00 each
Certified Accident Report $8.00 each
Offense Report (public copy) $1.00 each
Certified Offense Report(public copy) $3.00 each
Copies – letter/legal paper $0.10 per page
Copies – non-standard paper $0.50 each
Copies – diskette $1.00 each
Fax charge – local $0.10 per page
Fax long distance – other area code $1.00 per page
Fax long distance – 409 area code $0.50 per page
Fingerprint card $5.00 each
Photo CD $3.00 each
In Car Video $3.00 each
CD $1.00 each
Personnel Fee $15.00/hr